An opportunity for your own Forces – The alternative educational project VAMOS! CRIANÇA

In 1998, in the small town of Bacabal in the northeastern brazilian state of Maranhão, child pastoral employees, health workers and residents of the outskirts of the city Alto da Assunção initiated an alternative educational Project. It bears the name Vamos! CRIANÇAWhich means “Let’s go, kids!” Today, in Alto Da Assunção (hill of the assumption) and another outskirt of Bacabal, Novo-Bacabal (New Bacabal), 120 boys and girls aged 7-16 meet to play and learn with each other. All were malnourished as toddlers and therefore now have communication and learning difficulties. The educational concept of the project is based on the example of the brazilian liberation educator Paulo Freire. In Alto da Assunção, the project uses two rooms of the ecclesiastical community centre, and in Novo-Bacabal the newly built community centre Paulo Freire is available for the project work. The project is coordinated by brazilian educators and social educators. Each of the five groups of 24 children is accompanied by two pedagogical staff members. They live in the same district, so they know the everyday life of the children particularly well and try to respond to their individual needs with targeted pedagogical offers. Monthly and annual planning and evaluation meetings, regular training courses and joint excursions by the pedagogical team, which consists of the group leaders and a three-person project management, also contribute to this.

The pedagogical team

Our pedagogical team

Matching the photo, bottom row from left:

Manuel Goncalves Lemos – project coordination; Joseane Costa dos Santos – social educator Novo Bacabal; Jose Filho Marques da Conceicao – social educator and capoeira teacher in Novo Bacabal; Vandinalda Barbosa de Aquiar – social educator Alto Da Assuncao; Maria Vanusa de Aquiar dos Santos – social educator Novo Bacabal; Marcia Cristina Medeiros Chaves – social educator Novo Bacabal; Luiz Paulo – social educator Novo Bacabal; Pia Proksch – intern in Alto da Assuncao;

Top row from left:

Vilciele Silva Damasceno – project coordination; Liduina Costa Pinto – social educator Alto da Assuncao; Neliene the Gracas Mendes – social educator Alto da Assuncao; Thayse Phamera Aguiar – pregnancy representation as a social educator in Novo Bacabal (volunteer); Maria de Jesus Vieira dos Santos – social rducator Alto da Assuncao; Katrin Zierhut – Volunteer (World WTC) in project coordination;

Youth work

At the end of 2003, the project with 15 young people (average age 15 years) designed and launched a pilot program in Alto da Assunção. This was initiated by the changed needs of the children, who had already participated in the project for three or more years and for whom continuous work was now being sought on the basis of the already existing project experiences. Under educational guidance, the group meets three times a week to:

  • work out age-related topics (sexuality, drugs, violence, environment, etc.),
  • learn and apply artisanal techniques,
  • discover and promote skills in the artistic-spiritual/cultural area.

Based on the positive experience with this work, the program was expanded to a further 15 young people in the Novo-Bacabal district in 2005.

Eine Chance für die eigenen Kräfte – Das alternative Bildungsprojekt VAMOS! CRIANÇA

In der Kleinstadt Bacabal im nordostbrasiliansichen Bundesstaat Maranhão haben 1998 Mitarbeiterinnen der Kinderpastoral, Gesundheitshelferinnen und Bewohner der Stadtrandsiedlung Alto da Assunção ein alternatives Bildungsprojekt initiiert. Es trägt den Namen VAMOS! CRIANÇA, was soviel heißt wie „Los geht’s, Kinder!“ Heute treffen sich in Alto da Assunção (Hügel der Himmelfahrt) und einer anderen Stadtrandsiedlung von Bacabal, nämlich Novo-Bacabal (Neu-Bacabal), 120 Jungen und Mädchen im Alter von 7-16 Jahren, um miteinander zu spielen und zu lernen. Alle waren als Kleinkinder unterernährt und haben daher heute Kommunikations- und Lernschwierigkeiten. Dem pädagogischen Konzept des Projekt liegt das Vorbild des brasilianische Befreiungspädagoge Paulo Freire zugrunde. In Alto da Assunção nutzt das Projekt zwei Räume des kirchlichen Gemeindezentrums, in Novo-Bacabal steht für die Projektarbeit das neu erbaute Gemeinschaftszentrum Paulo Freire zur Verfügung. Das Projekt wird von der brasilianischen Pädagogen und Sozialerzieherinnen koordiniert. Jede der fünf Gruppen von je 24 Kindern wird von zwei pädagogischen Mitarbeiterinnen begleitet. Diese wohnen jeweils im selben Stadtteil, kennen daher den Lebensalltag der Kinder besonders gut und versuchen, auf deren individuelle Bedürfnisse mit gezielten pädagogischen Angeboten zu reagieren. Dazu tragen auch monatliche und jährliche Planungs- und Auswertungstreffen, regelmäßige Fortbildungen und gemeinsame Exkursionen des pädagogischen Teams bei, das aus den Gruppenleiterinnen und einer dreiköpfigen Projektleitung besteht.

Das Pädagogische Team

Unser Pädagogisches Team

Passend zum Foto, untere Reihe von links:

Manuel Goncalves Lemos – Projektkoordination; Joseane Costa dos Santos – Sozialerzieherin Novo Bacabal; Jose Filho Marques da Conceicao – Sozialerzieher und Capoeira-Lehrer in Novo Bacabal; Vandinalda Barbosa de Aquiar – Sozialerzieherin Alto da Assuncao; Maria Vanusa de Aquiar dos Santos – Sozialerzieherin Novo Bacabal; Marcia Cristina Medeiros Chaves – Sozialerzieherin Novo Bacabal; Luiz Paulo – Sozialerzieher Novo Bacabal; Pia Proksch – Praktikantin in Alto da Assuncao;

obere Reihe von links:

Vilciele Silva Damasceno – Projektkoordination; Liduina Costa Pinto – Sozialerzieherin Alto da Assuncao; Neliene das Gracas Mendes – Sozialerzieherin Alto da Assuncao; Thayse Phamera Aguiar – Schwangerschaftsvertretung als Sozialerzieherin in Novo Bacabal (Freiwillige); Maria de Jesus Vieira dos Santos – Sozialerzieherin Alto da Assuncao; Katrin Zierhut – Freiwillige (Weltwärts) in der Projektkoordination;

Jugendarbeit           

Ende 2003 hat das Projekt mit 15 Jugendlichen (Durchschnittsalter 15 Jahre) ein Pilotprogramm in Alto da Assunção entworfen und gestartet. Anstoss dafür waren die gewandelten Bedürfnisse der Kinder, die schon drei oder mehr Jahre am Projekt teilgenommen hatten und für die nun nach einer kontinuierlichen Weiterarbeit auf der Basis der schon vorhandenen Projekterfahrungen gesucht wurde.  Unter pädagogischer Anleitung trifft sich die Gruppe dreimal wöchentlich, um:

  • altersrelevante Themen zu erarbeiten (Sexualität, Drogen, Gewalt, Umwelt usw.),
  • kunsthandwerkliche Techniken zu erlernen und anzuwenden,
  • Fähigkeiten im musisch-geistigen/kulturellen Bereich zu entdecken und zu fördern.

Auf Grund der positiven Erfahrungen mit dieser Arbeit wurde das Programm 2005 auf weitere 15 Jugendliche im Stadtteil Novo-Bacabal ausgeweitet.